St. George's Church

St. George's Church is one of the suburban churches of Mühlhausen and has an active congregation with newly built parish hall next to the church. the church history: St. George's Church in the correspondent suburb at the fording Unstrut was first mentioned in 1359 on the occasion of a new building. It was a choirless hall church with four bays and a west tower. The east gable with its 3 windows is designed as a showcase on the street leading to the ford. The gable is crowned by an attachment, which is interpreted as a projection towards the ford. In front of the southern side of the church, a chapel was built around 1370, which has been accessible from the inside of the church only since the beginning of the 20th century and has been used as a baptistery since then. The tower, which is very similar to the towers of St. Martin's and St. Kilian's, was built in 1748/1749.


St. George's Church
Feldstr. 76
99974 Mühlhausen

Phone: +49 3601 446516
publicly accessible

free entrance

Smoking not allowed

Photography allowed


further information

Distance to public transport:
100 Meter
Guided tours
no guided tours

Public parking facilities in the vicinity

P6 Parking lot "Hanfsack"
86 Places (Car)

This might be interesting for you


Name of company

Evangelical Church District of Mühlhausen, Superintendent Andreas Piontek
Bei der Marienkirche 9
99974 Mühlhausen

Phone: +49 3601 837942


Wirtschaftsbetriebe Mühlhausen GmbH
Windeberger Landstraße 73
99974 Mühlhausen

Phone: +49 3601 404770


The content of our pages has been created with the utmost care. The site also contains links to external websites of third parties on whose content we have no influence. We cannot assume any liability for the correctness, completeness and up-to-dateness of the contents and links. Click here for further information.